Mobile & Drupal – Real Friends!

If you still have not jumped into mobile arena then you are too late for the party. Fortunately, Drupal makes it surprisingly easy to serve mobile-optimized content.

drupal mobile sites

Drupal Mobile Sites

Here is a scenario to say that Drupal and mobile are real friends.

SCENARIO: Make your existing site mobile

Suppose you have an existing Drupal website which is content rich with a fairly standard layout which include magazine site or blog. Make it mobile. Creating a mobile site takes no time at all. It only takes a few hours to set up a mobile website for your client – XYZ.com. Use your existing design elements and CSS from their blog theme. Isn’t it easy?

Now, what is the purpose of creating a Drupal mobile site? When someone hits your website on a mobile phone, you want Drupal to detect that people who are hitting your site are on cellular device and then serve up their content in a mobile-optimized theme.

Your requirement

There are in fact a number of modules which offer enhancements for mobile device but for the most basic mobile website implementation, all you need is..

  1. A custom mobile theme

  2. Mobile tools module

  3. Panels, which can be used for extra special layout sauce

Mobile Theme

Creating a mobile theme is really intuitive. Even if you do not have any designer to help you, you can riff on your existing theme, as long as you keep some basic tenets in mind. For example, you will want to make links big and use white or any light color space around them and change the existing layout to fit on a standard mobile screen. I think that is 320×240 pixels, or thereabout.

Mobile Tools

Mobile Tools module is something essential for Drupal. It helps in detecting when a mobile device device hits your site and automatically switches to a mobile URL.

Recently I have come across a news about Drupal website development changes which I have shared in my post.  To explore what I have found visit http://mobilewebcm.quora.com/Drupal-Developers-Changing-The-Trends-Of-Website-Development

   Follow Me on Pinterest

Follow John Murphy’s view on Drupal Mobile Sites on Quora

2 Comments

  1. Greetings I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Digg for something else,
    Anyways I am here now and would just like to say cheers for a marvelous post
    and a all round thrilling blog (I also love the theme/design),
    I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have bookmarked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time
    I will be back to read more, Please do keep up the fantastic work.

  2. Hi there! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with Search Engine Optimization?
    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but I’m not
    seeing very good results. If you know of any please
    share. Thank you!

Leave a Reply

