My First Android Phone And Why It Won’t Be My Last!

I wasn’t a true fan of any specific operating system till about a couple of years ago. Apple came with its first super smartphone, the iPhone in 2007, and at close to $700 then, neither was I inclined nor could afford to be moved. Life was treading along fine when out of nowhere Samsung came, and along with it, I got a taste of my first Android phone.

Image

Yes, I am a late mover; by the time I unboxed my new phone, my friends were already segregated into three groups – the blue-eyed iPhone users, the always-connected BlackBerry “boys” and the new, rising Android rebels – all of which I couldn’t make any sense of back then as I had upgraded from a basic Nokia phone.

Android apps, like their OS was new, and were touted as the coolest bit of technology since they were open-source, which meant I could customize them the way I wanted, and were being developed by the hundreds each day. From a few thousand apps, Android soon came at par with Apple’s iTunes Store, atleast on the app count – they both have more than 700,000 at the time of writing.

The things I love

Anyways, coming back to my first brush with Android. As I held my new Samsung Galaxy Note, I realized I was now a part of the “big” evolution: no, not by the screen size, which at 5.3 inches was the largest at that time, but the transition: it just seemed so effortless, and I least expected this to happen. In no time, I was moving in and out of apps, customizing how my home screen looked, resizing the widgets, playing around with the placement of the app icons… the list just goes on.

The entire hoopla was after all, for a reason – and I was beginning to see it. Android is meant to be played with; no wonder Google later christened their App Store Google Play. You can make it your own and this flexibility drove the numbers. There were other apparent reasons for Android’s world dominance since the last year or so; and I’m listing some I found way ahead of the times (remember, I’m talking about late 2011).

The large display meant more screen real estate. Images, videos and games were a joy to experience. The improved camera packed in more mega pixels and definitely appealed to the amateur photographer in me. Higher resolution screens with as many pixels per inch (PPI) as an HDTV made everything pop out of the screen.

My device’s HD screen produced high contrast images, with deep blacks and saturated colors – though not the most ideal, it rendered vivid images, crisp videos and the most amazing visual experience on a mobile device. Thanks to its high PPI count, viewing angles were great, which meant I had no problem with the screen even under broad daylight.

One of the most utilitarian features in a smartphone is its battery life, and my Note had oodles of it. A larger battery meant I had to charge my phone less and one single charge lasted me well over a day. In fact, the Note shipped with one of the largest batteries in a smartphone available at that time.

Next came the processors: I had two while other phones were happy with one. It made multi-tasking a breeze, opening up apps in a jiffy, with little to no lag when transitioning between apps or screens. The dual core beast of a processor made short work of games and other “processor-intensive” apps, making me feel somewhat invincible. Throw anything at the Note, and it won’t even bat an eyelid.

Is there anything I left out? What has been your experience so far? Which OS do you think is the best?

Leave a Reply

